Please enable Javascript to correctly display the contents on Dot Net Tricks!

Gang of Four (GOF) Design Patterns in .Net

  Author : Shailendra Chauhan
Updated On : 26 Sep 2016
Total Views : 62,428   
Support : All C# & .Net

In 1994, four authors Erich Gamma, Richard Helm, Ralph Johnson and John Vlissides published a book (Design Patterns: Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software) for explaining the concept of Design Pattern in Software development. These four authors are collectively known as Gang of Four (GOF).

GOF Design Patterns

The 23 Design patterns are defined by the Gang of Four programmers. These 23 patterns are divided into three groups depending on the nature of the design problem they intend to solve.

  1. Creational Design Patterns

    These patterns deal with the process of objects creation in such a way that they can be decoupled from their implementing system. This provides more flexibility in deciding which objects need to be created for a given use case/ scenario. There are as follows:

    1. Factory Method : Create instances of derived classes

    2. Abstract Factory : Create instances of several classes belonging to different families

    3. Builder : Separates an object construction from its representation

    4. Prototype : Create a duplicate object or clone of the object

    5. Singleton : Ensures that a class can has only one instance

  2. Structural Design Patterns

    These patterns deal with the composition of objects structures. The concept of inheritance is used to compose interfaces and define various ways to compose objects for obtaining new functionalities. There are as follows:

    1. Adapter : Match interfaces of different classes

    2. Bridge : Separates an object’s abstraction from its implementation

    3. Composite : A tree structure of simple and composite objects

    4. Decorator : Add responsibilities to objects dynamically

    5. Façade : A single class that represents an entire complex system

    6. Flyweight : Minimize memory usage by sharing as much data as possible with similar objects

    7. Proxy : Provides a surrogate object, which references to other object

  3. Behavioral Design Patterns

    These patterns deal with the process of communication, managing relationships, and responsibilities between objects. There are as follows:

    1. Chain of Responsibility: Passes a request among a list or chain of objects.

    2. Command: Wraps a request under an object as a command and passed to invoker object.

    3. Interpreter

    4. Iterator

    5. Mediator

    6. Memento

    7. Observer

    8. State

    9. Strategy

    10. Visitor

    11. Template Method

What do you think?
I hope you will enjoy the GOF design patterns while designing your software. I would like to have feedback from my blog readers. Your valuable feedback, question, or comments about this article are always welcome.
Free Interview Books
PPC Marketing (offline)

Sat, Sun 09:00 AM-10:30 AM IST

Know More
AngularJS Development (online)

MON-FRI 08:00 PM-09:30 PM IST.

Know More
26 OCT
ASP.NET MVC with AngularJS Development (online)

MON-FRI 07:30 AM-09:00 AM IST

Know More
24 OCT
NodeJS Development (online)

MON-FRI     06:00 AM - 07:30 AM IST

24 OCT
MEAN Stack Development (online)

MON-FRI     06:00 AM -07:30 AM IST

22 OCT
ASP.NET MVC with AngularJS Development (offline)

SAT,SUN     08:00 AM-09:30 AM

12 OCT
ASP.NET MVC with AngularJS Development (online)

Mon-Fri     09:30 PM-11:00 PM IST

17 SEP
ASP.NET MVC with AngularJS Development (offline)

SAT,SUN     05:00 PM-06:30 PM IST

NodeJS Development (offline)

Sat, Sun     11:00 AM-12:30 PM IST


Professional Speaks